10 Comments
author

The first book that comes to mind is "Little Women" - I know it has been much-hyped for decades, and the movie is still quite popular, but I could never get into it. I'm not sure if it's the time period it's set in or the way the characters are written, but I just couldn't bring myself to have a connection with them.

Extra: Anything by Hemingway. Never finished a book by him, despite my many attempts.

My high school English teacher once compared my writing to his, and when I went to read his work, I only got 10 pages in before my eyes glazed over (and I vowed to learn much more about writing because I never want that to be my style!)

Expand full comment

Life is too short to read books that don't resonate with where I am in my life at that moment. I tried to read Gone with the Wind in high school. (Grew up in Georgia in the 90s and it seemed like the thing to do.) I haven't gotten through the book or the movie and it is unlikely that I will pick either back up again.

Expand full comment
Jul 16, 2022Liked by Victoria Klein (VK)

In college I majored in Japanese History and learned the language, so I tried to read (in Italian translation) many Japanese novels (the usual suspects: Mishima, Kawabata, Tanizaki) until I realized that 1) I found them mildly boring, and 2) I was reading them only because they were from Japan. If I remember well, I never finished both "The Golden Pavilion" and "Confessions of a Mask."

Another novel I couldn't finish (I actually stopped after a few pages) is Italo Svevo's "Zeno's Conscience." Ah, and Jean-Paul Sartre's "Nausea."

Expand full comment